Finalists have been named for The Changing Lawyer Awards, paving the way for the announcement of the winners during ILTACON 2019, the annual convention of the International Legal Technology Association later this month.

This is the second year of the award, which recognizes individuals, firms and companies in the legal industry for their role in embracing and driving change, whether through new technology, service models or behavior. The awards are sponsored by Litera Microsystems.

A panel of judges — of which I was one — reviewed the nominations and narrowed the field to the following:

Legal Innovator of the Year, recognizing the individual who has driven the most significant change within their firm or legal department.

  • David A. Rueff Jr., chief client solutions officer for Baker Donelson.
  • Farrah Pepper, chief legal innovation counsel for Marsh & McLennan Companies.
  • Matt Basile, partner with Kelley Drye & Warren.
  • Michael Caplan, COO of Goodwin.
  • Monica Zent, founder and managing counsel of ZentLaw.

Law Firm of the Year, recognizing the law firm that has most successfully reimagined the way it serves its clients.

  • Cassels Brock & Blackwell.
  • Corrs Chambers Westgarth.
  • Dechert.
  • Husch Blackwell.
  • Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt.

Disruptor of the Year, recognizing the alternative legal service provider or legal tech supplier that has most successfully disrupted the broader legal profession.

  • DealMaker.
  • Gravity Stack.
  • Hello Divorce.
  • LegalSifter.
  • Lex Machina.

A fourth award will recognize an individual for lifetime achievement.

Winners will be announced during ILTACON at the Litera Microsystems briefing on Monday, Aug. 19, at Disney’s Boardwalk Atlantic Dance Hall at 5:30 p.m.

More information about the awards can be found at the event page.

Photo of Bob Ambrogi Bob Ambrogi

Bob is a lawyer, veteran legal journalist, and award-winning blogger and podcaster. In 2011, he was named to the inaugural Fastcase 50, honoring “the law’s smartest, most courageous innovators, techies, visionaries and leaders.” Earlier in his career, he was editor-in-chief of several legal publications, including The National Law Journal, and editorial director of ALM’s Litigation Services Division.