Back in April, I wrote about the kick-off of the third-annual round of nominations for the American Legal Technology Awards — one notable for the fact that it will be the first time the awards will be presented in-person since its inception. 

The purpose of the awards is to honor those making a difference and to highlight examples of excellence in creative innovation and technology in the legal industry for the purposes of (1) expanding our understanding of what is possible, (2) encouraging a virtuous cycle of improvement, and (3) creating a more just society.

Well, now the finalists are in, chosen by a panel of 23 judges out of 225 submissions, and the winners will be announced at a formal awards gala, which will take place Oct. 9, 2022, on the eve of the Clio Cloud Conference, at the Gaylord Opryland Resort in Nashville.

So, without further ado, here are the finalists:

Award Category (in alphabetical order)
Access to Justice Ann Pruitt Rasa TurnSignl
Court 15th District Court Ann Arbor, MI Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism (2Civility) The Far West Texas Regional Public Defender’s Office
Enterprise Big Hand Everlaw Inmediation
Individual Amy Schmitz Farrah Pepper Michael Eisenberg
Law Department Farah Pepper General Motors The Startup Garage
Law Firm Fox Rothschild LLP Megan Mathias of Lopp Mathias Law Peter Geovanes of Winston Strong LLP
Startup Briefpoint Rasa Legal Trellis
Technology Documate JustFix SixFifty
Tom Martin, a cofounder of the awards, says the gala will be the Oscars of legal innovation, with formal attire, a three-course dinner, fine wine and dancing. He expects some 100 people to attend. 
Photo of Bob Ambrogi Bob Ambrogi

Bob is a lawyer, veteran legal journalist, and award-winning blogger and podcaster. In 2011, he was named to the inaugural Fastcase 50, honoring “the law’s smartest, most courageous innovators, techies, visionaries and leaders.” Earlier in his career, he was editor-in-chief of several legal publications, including The National Law Journal, and editorial director of ALM’s Litigation Services Division.